St.Faithleach’s GAA

About the Club

St. Faithleach’s GAA Club is based in Ballyleague, Co. Roscommon, in the parish of Kilgefin. Our Club Players hail from Curraghroe, Ballyleague, Cloontuskert and Kilrooskey. The Club came into existence in 1962 as a result of the efforts of the late Dan Dalton, Pheilm Henry and many more. St. Faithleach’s won the County Junior title in 1963 and went on to win the Senior County Championship in 1965. Those early heydays marked the foundation on which a proud tradition of football was built.
Our unique name comes from our patron saint, Faithleach of Cloontuskert who was one of the four sons of Fionnlugh Mac Olchú, and a brother of Brendan of Confert ‘The Voyager’ or also known as ‘The Navigator’. It is believed that St. Faithleach founded the Abbey in Cloontuskert in 520AD.
The Club officially opened its grounds in Ballyleague in 1981 and in 2007 moved to our new grounds which currently includes 3 playing pitches, dressing rooms, clubhouse, spectator stand and a walkway for all members. The club is a proud winner of the “Roscommon GAA Club Ground of the Year” Award in 2011 and in 2013 the club won the “Connacht GAA Club Ground of the Year”. In 2012 we celebrated our ‘Golden Jubilee’ 50 years in existence and held various events to mark the occasion. Further work lies ahead and we look forward to its completion over the next few years.
Through the years many talented St. Faithleach’s players have contributed to Roscommon GAA County Teams. Pat Lindsey captained Roscommon Senior Team in their National League win in 1979 and Danny Murray led the Roscommon Senior Team in the All-Ireland Final of 1980. In more recent years there have been many outstanding young representatives both male and female from St. Faithleach’s wearing the county colours.
At underage level, St. Faithleach’s have won numerous titles both Championship and League at all age groups, including our Ladies who have all continued to bring great success and pride to the Club.
We are assured of a bright future with the on-going development of our facilities and grounds, and the commitment from parents and mentors for our younger generations ensures that the years to come will mark many more achievements on and off the pitch.

Major Achievements
(Men's Senior Club):

Senior Football Champions: 1965
Intermediate Football Champions: 1992 & 2002
O’Rourke Cup (D1 Senior League) Winners: 1971, 1976, 2004 & 2019
County Cup Champions 2019
Curley Cup Winners: 1979
Junior Football Champions: 1963(A), 2004(B) & 2010(B)
Mid-South Junior B Champions: 2004, 2008, 2010 & 2017
O’Gara Cup Winners: 1992 & 2002
Tansey Cup Winners: 2006
U21 Football Champions: D2 1991, D2 in 1996 & D3A in 2014


Club Merchandise






Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Designed & developed by